Music Awards Evening 2023

On Tuesday, 17 October, the music departments from both Westlake schools held their annual celebration, recognising the achievements of the Year 11 – 13 musicians. The dinner was at McHugh’s in Devonport. It was well attended by senior students, teachers, parents of Year 13’s, Heads of Schools, SLT and Board members.

The evening opened with the Heads of Department, Fiona Wilson and Warwick Robinson, summarising the year and thanking the students, teachers, and directors for their hard work and commitment towards what has been the most successful year in Westlake’s music history.

The guest speaker, alumnus Don McGlashan, gave an illuminating and powerful speech. Don McGlashan was recently inducted into the NZ Music Hall of Fame for his lifetime achievements. He was impressed with the level of music available to students at Westlake and commented that when he attended WBHS, there wasn’t a prizegiving for music – just an orchestra and not much else. He spoke about how “music we make today reflects who we are” and sang a few song excerpts to the crowd’s delight. The evening also included entertaining items from students. Bella Allan-Moetaua sang ‘Laudate Dominum’ by Mozart, accompanied by Hana Tani on piano. Principal Jane Stanley presented the special cups and trophies at the close of the evening.

Music Special Awards 2023

Leadership in Instrumental Music Stephanie Zhou

Leadership in Music Department Princess Peregrino, Doyoun Kim, Mackenzie Wills

Leadership in Choral Music Bella Allan-Moetaua & Emilie Murphy

Leadership in Performance Holly Isherwood

Creativity in Music Matilda Faamausili

Most Promising Song Writer Holly Isherwood

Excellence in Music Performance Bella Allan-Moetaua.